Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Life By the Drop: Day #3


Dreams.  The past two nights I’ve had dreams…I never dream.  And I’ve slept like eight hours.

I don’t know if this has to do with my consistent diet of water and/or abstinence from alcohol.  The jury is still out.

Other that everything seems pretty well at par.  Tonight I’ll be at the bar, it’s $1.50 beer night and everyone will be lingering in or around a buzz…I will be drinking water.  Will I survive?
 
I'm not sure which can't come soon enough...Sam's birthday or the end of June.

P.S. - Isn't June 3rd the day Luke and Lorelai were supposed to get married? 

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Life By the Drop: Day #2


 
Eight hours of sleep later and nothing but water yesterday…I don’t feel any better than I do after any other half-drunken night.  That might have something to do with the fact that I gave up hangovers when I turned 30, so my default disposition of one meandering litharge.  That also might have something to do with the cold quesadilla I hate at 3:00 AM.  See kids, I still make bad decisions sober.

It was an early last night, not so much because I wasn’t drinking, but more because there simply was no one out and about.  I ran out of ears to listen, voices to talk, and souls to corrupt; but on the bright side I was home in time to watch late night t.v. 

The guests were Melissa McCarthy (who would’ve thought Sookie from “Gilmore Girls” would become one of Hollywood’s biggest stars?) on Fallon, and Rose Byrne on Seth Myers.  They were both trying to sell me the same fuckin’ movie…both shows even showed the exact same unfunny clip from the movie trying to sell it to a humor deprived audience as the next "Spies Like Us".

Ugh…this is why I don't watch late night t.v.

Monday, June 1, 2015

Life By the Drop: Day #1



 

June 1, 2015

I woke up later than I wanted to this almost afternoon.  My motivation to get out of bed is nil, and my motivation to continue on with this no drinking in the month of June thing is even less (with the exception of June 17th, I can’t let Sam’s birthday pass without a proper sloshing).  Not because it seems so hard, but because it’s little more than an arbitrary challenge of willpower, an attribute of humanity that I am embarrassingly low on.  Regardless, my new glasses came in today and no drinking in June (for the most part), it’s kind of like a new start with an old ending come July 1st.

I can hardly say I feel better, my liver is still filtering the bourbon and diet from last night, so I can hardly pin a medal on my chest, I really haven’t accomplished anything yet except waking up alive this morning.  Which I suppose in its own right, is kind of an accomplishment.